58 North Road, East Windsor, CT
Preserving the past for future generations.

Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc.

About Us

The Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc. is the owner and operator of the Connecticut Trolley Museum. Founded in October 1940, it is the nation's oldest incorporated organization dedicated to the preservation of the trolley era. The organization is led by a 12-member board of directors.

All major buildings and the museum's center of operations are located on a 17-acre facility adjacent to State Route 140 in East Windsor. The right of way is a 3.2-mile portion of the Rockville branch of the Hartford & Springfield Street Railway Company. Void of all track, the property was purchased when the organization was formed in 1940. Over the years, our volunteers have been able to build not only 1.5 miles of track and the associated overhead wire for power distribution, but all of the yard and storage track, power substation, storage barns, and restoration shop.


Our mission is to provide a historically accurate educational experience of the trolley era, through the interpretation, preservation, restoration, and operation of an electric railway.

Officers and Board of Directors


Ted Coppola, Chairman
James Miller, Vice-Chairman
Galen Semprebon, President
Larry Bryan, Vice-President
Tim Lesniak, Secretary
Stephen Taylor, Treasurer

Board of Directors

John Arel
Robert Brogle
Larry Bryan
Ted Coppola
Sara Garthwait
Tim Lesniak
James Miller
Stephen Mitchell
Brian O'Leary
Edward Prajzner
Galen Semprebon
Stephen Taylor

Business Manager

Gina Maria Alimberti (contact)


Connecticut Trolley Museum